View Goa

Goa Districts & Administration

The state is segregated into two primary districts - North Goa and South Goa. Every district is administered by a district authority, an overseer designated by the Indian government. Goa's significant urban communities incorporate Panaji, Margoa, Mapusa, Ponda, and Vasco da Gama.

There are thirteen Municipal Councils namely, Bicholim, Canacona, Cuncolim, Curchorem, Mapusa, Margao, Mormugao (counting Vasco da Gama), Pernem, Ponda, Quepem, Sanguem, Sanquelim, and Valpoi.

About North Goa District

North Goa is one of the two districts that make up the state of Goa, India. The district covers an area range of 1736 kmĀ², and is limited by Sindhudurg district of Maharashtra to its north and Kolhapur district of Maharashtra to the east. It is flanked by South Goa District toward the south, and by the Arabian Sea to its west.

Panaji is the central headquarter of North Goa district and is the main Municipal Corporation in Goa. North Goa is further separated into four subdivisions namely, Bicholim, Panaji, Ponda and Mapusa; and six taluks namely, Bardez (Mapusa), Bicholim, Tiswadi (Panaji), Pernem, Ponda, and Sattari (Valpoi).

  • North Goa District Code: NG
  • North Goa Population (2011): 817,761
  • North Goa Area (km2): 1,736
  • North Goa Population Density (/km2): 471

About South Goa District

South Goa is one of two districts that include the state of Goa in West India, wihtin the area known as the Konkan. It is limited by the district of North Goa toward its north, the Uttara Kannada district of Karnataka toward its south and east, and the Arabian Sea that frames its western coastal limits.

Margao is the central headquarter of South Goa district. South Goa is further partitioned into three subdivisions namely, Mormugao (Vasco da Gama), Margao, and Quepem; and six taluks namely, Canacona (Chaudi), Dharbandora, Mormugao, Salcete (Margao), Quepem, and Sanguem.

  • South Goa Code: SG
  • South Goa Population (2011): 639,962
  • South Goa Area (km2): 1,966
  • South Goa Population Density (/km2): 326